Allan Border Medal

The Allan Border Medal is considered to be the most prestigious individual prize in Australian cricket. First awarded in 2000, the medal is named after former Australian captain Allan Border and recognises the most outstanding Australian cricketer of the past season as voted by his peers, the media and umpires. Votes are cast after each game on a 3–2–1 basis, with a weighting applied to give both One Day International and Test players an equal chance of winning the award.




Michael Clarke (right) with Australian captain Ricky Ponting at the Allan Border Medal awards.




Michael with Allan Border Medal

Wisden Cricketer of the Year


Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack (or simply Wisden or colloquially “the Bible of Cricket”) is a cricket reference book published annually in the United Kingdom. It is considered the world’s most famous sports reference book.


Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World


In an individual boost before 2013’s Ashes double header, Clarke has been recognised with Wisden’s Leading Cricketer in the World award after a scintillating year with the bat in Test cricket.

Clarke averaged 106.33 at the crease for 2012, scoring a mammoth 1,595 runs, including four double centuries.

He becomes the third Australian to receive the honour after Ricky Ponting (2003) and Shane Warne (2004).


ICC Cricketer of the Year & Test Cricketer of the Year 2013

Michael Clarke has been named Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year, two of the most prestigious awards annually announced by the ICC.

The honours were announced on the first day of Clarke’s 100th Test, against England in Perth.They come largely on the basis of his prolific run in Tests, amassing 1559 runs in the voting period, more than 300 better than the next highest, Alastair Cook. His five Test centuries included two double-hundreds and a 187 against England.


Australian Test Player of the Year